Albert J. Senes Jr., 77, retired Maryland police detective – Coastal Observer


Albert J. Senes Jr., 77, retired Maryland police detective

March 14, 2019

Albert John Senes Jr. of Surfside Beach, a retired police officer, died March 8. He was 77.

He was born Feb. 5, 1942, in Baltimore City, Md., the son of Albert John Senes and Florence May Schroeder Senes. He graduated from Bladensburg High School in Maryland where he met his future wife, Ruth Alice Britt. 

Mr. Senes worked in the grocery department of Giant Foods prior to becoming an officer with the Prince Georges County Police Department. He served on the force for 22 years and achieved the rank of detective sergeant.

The couple vacationed annually in Myrtle Beach and retired to Surfside Beach. Mrs. Senes died in 2005.

He is survived by his daughter, Suzanne Marie Jayroe (Robert) of Pawleys Island; his son, Stephen Wayne Senes of Surfside Beach; his grandchildren, Aaron Jordan Jayroe (Cortney Bonn) of Myrtle Beach and Allison Kaye Jayroe (Cody Watson) of Pawleys Island; a sister, Florence May Jones (Bruce) of Port St. Lucie, Fla.; a brother, Kenneth Charles Senes (Aleda) of Eufala, Ala.; his nieces and nephews, Jennifer Beasley (Alex), Jessica Archer (Jamie), David Senes (Natalia) and John Senes (Nell) and their children.

A memorial service will be held March 14 at 1 p.m. at Holy Cross-Faith Memorial Episcopal Church.

Memorials may be made to the church, P.O. Box 990, Pawleys Island, SC 29585.

There is a guest book at



Georgetown County Tourism Management Commission: May 2, 3:30 p.m., Lachicotte Co. office.

Georgetown County Board of Zoning Appeals: May 2, 5:30 p.m., County Council chambers. Georgetown County Parks and Recreation Commission: May 6, 5 p.m., Beck Recreation Center, Georgetown.

Georgetown County Council:  Budget workshop. May 7, 4 p.m., council chambers.

Georgetown County School Board: May 7, 5:30 p.m., Beck Education Center.

Georgetown County Airport Commission: May 7, 6 p.m., airport terminal.

Pawleys Island Town Council: May 13, 5 p.m., Town Hall.

Georgetown County Council: May 14, 5:30 p.m., council chambers. , .